Prelude to Parsifal

Arranged by John R. Bourgeois

Grade 5

Concert Band Conductor Score & Parts


      Prelude to Parsifal


Parsifal, written in 1882, was the final opera by composer Richard Wagner (1813-1883). The prelude is a miniature masterpiece consisting of only 116 measures. The form of the prelude is similar to that of the classical three-movement overture and consists of four musical motives: the mystical realm of the Holy Grail; the Grail itself in the Dresden Amen; Faith, represented by the brass chorale; and the Agony of Amfortas. This transcription by John R. Bourgeois faithfully adheres to Wagners intent both in key relationships and orchestration.

Additional information

Weight 2.75 lbs
Dimensions 12 × 9 × 2.5 in

Preview Score

Score Preview

Score Video